Longlisted 2014

Secrets by Christine Laurenson

I cook when mum can’t; when dad hits her too hard. I made him curry tonight. He likes that. Then I gave mum her sleeping tablets. She didn’t feel like eating. Said it hurt to breathe. Think her ribs might be broken.

It’s swimming club tonight, so I’ll get away for a couple of hours. They don’t need me and I don’t want to stay here. I sneak out, so Dad can’t stop me, or talk to me, or touch me again… Our secret, he said, when I cried. But I told Aunt May, mum’s sister. She understands.

I drop the jar in the bin outside the corner shop. Aunt May is a good cook. She told me that you can make cheap curry sauce taste so much better with a dollop of peanut butter. I’m only eight. Way too young to understand about Dad’s nut allergy. Aunt May says.

One thought on “Longlisted 2014

  1. Pingback: Results 2014 | Flashbang

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

