Winning story 2015

First prize went to Tracey Walsh for her wicked story of (un)happy families.

Standing Room Only

Front row reserved for family. Awkward. Front rows then.

I once calculated how many weeks, days, hours, minutes until you’d be old enough to leave home. I know exactly when I first set eyes on you. Snub nose pressed against the window. Daddy’s little princess in denim dungarees.

Daniel, proud single dad sharing you with me at last.

I might as well have printed WELCOME on my back so you could break in your new flashing trainers walking all over me.

You nearly won.

But just this side of capitulation I decided. One of us had to die. And shifting the blame? Inspired.

So standing room only, as we say our goodbyes to Daniel. Wish they’d hurry up. Merry Widow suits me better than Wicked Stepmother and they’ll have to get you back to custody soon. Poor princess.

6 thoughts on “Winning story 2015

  1. Pingback: Results 2015 | Flashbang

  2. Pingback: Flashbang 2015 | Tracey Book Lover (formerly Crime Reader)

  3. Pingback: Such fun… | Tracey Book Lover

  4. Pingback: Such Fun… | Tracey Book Lover

  5. Pingback: What’s Your First Draft Like? – Tracey Walsh | Rebecca Bradley

  6. Pingback: Flashbang 2015 | Tracey Walsh

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

