The judges

All entries will be read blind by a panel of judges, i.e. we strip out author names and other identifying marks. So there can be no accusations of favouritism, and no opportunities for bribery. We know it’s a shame, but suck it up.

All entries are seen and sorted by Sarah Hilary, whose debut crime novel, Someone Else’s Skin won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015.

Longlisted entries are read and shortlisted by the following panel of judges:

Ayo Onatade works at the Supreme Court in London, is a CWA member, social networker at Shotsmag Confidential, book reviewer and Special Crime Reporter at Shots Ezine, and contributor to Crimespree Magazine. She is also Chair of the CWA Short Story Dagger judging panel.

Stav Sherez’s first novel, The Devil’s Playground, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey  Dagger. Dark Redemption was shortlisted for Crime Novel of the Year in 2012. His next novel, The Intrusions, will be published in 2017.

Linda Wilson, editor of Crime Review, writer and  retired lawyer.

Once the panel have arrived at a shortlist, it’s over to the final judge, internationally bestselling crime author, Zoë Sharp.

Zoë’s hobbies include sailing, fast cars (and faster motorbikes), target shooting,  travel, films, music, and reading just about anything she can get her hands on. As creator of sharp-shooting action girl Charlie Fox, Zoë is equal to anything you can throw at her. So give it your best shot.

2 thoughts on “The judges

  1. Pingback: Doors close in 34 hours | Flashbang

  2. Pingback: Doors close in 30 and a half hours | Flashbang

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: